Friday, June 28, 2013

The Four Divine Emotions

The four Brahma Viharas are considered by Buddhism to be the four highest emotions. Here they are
1. Metta - Loving-kindness
2. Karuna - Compassion
3. Mudita  - Joy with others
4. Upekkha - Equanimity
Our attempt to feel these qualities gives us insight into our current state of mind and heart. We get to know the experience of love and compassion, of joy and equanimity, and also of their opposites. We learn how it feels when one of the four qualities is stuck and how it feels when it is flowing freely. It is hard to pretend that we feel anything we don't. We can tell "May this person who is driving me crazy enjoy happiness and be free of suffering." But our feelings will not tell lies to us. Probably what we genuinely feel is anger. We discover that we have our limits: we can stay open to some people, but we remain closed to others. We see both our clarity and our confusion. This can open us to truth and love. After all, these emotions are four aspects of one love. We all are forms of real Love. Knowing this and living from this intention resolves all differences, and brings the greatest satisfaction. May be this is what we are here for?
May all sentient beings enjoy happiness
and the root of happiness.
May we be free from suffering
and the root of suffering.
May we not be separated from
the great happiness devoid of suffering.
May we dwell in the great equanimity
free from passion, aggression, and prejudice.


No comments: